News Headline Summary

RANsquawk - Today's Trading Edge

 

TIME: 2025BST/1525EDT

NEWS: MannKind (MNKD) wins FDA approval for Afrezza for treatment of diabetes; FDA has boxed warning on Afrezza on acute bronchospasm

REACTION: In an immediate reaction MNKD shares rose 3.8% from USD 10.70 to USD 11.11 before the announcement that the FDA approved drug can cause bronchospasm which resulted in the shares falling 14.4% to USD 9.51 before being halted. Upon resumption of trade volatility was observed before MannKind shares continued their decline for a total move of 26% from their highest level.

 

TIME: 2014BST/1514EDT

NEWS: America Movil (AMX) says unit to acquire 8.3% stake held by AT&T (T)

REACTION: In an immediate reaction, America Movil's ADR rose 1% from USD 20.02 to USD 20.22. Over the following five minutes shares continued to extend on gains for a total move of 2.75% to print a high at USD 20.58.

 

TIME: 2000BST/1500EDT

NEWS: Penn National Gaming (PENN) says formally withdrew its proposal for a USD 480mln Hollywood casino

REACTION: In an immediate reaction PENN shares fell 1.8% from USD 11.95 to USD 11.74.

 

TIME: 1843BST/1343EDT

NEWS: RANsquawk sources report that Rackspace (RAX) are not attracting buyout interest - Unconfirmed

REACTION: In an immediate reaction, RAX shares fell 2.9% from USD 36.47 to USD 35.40. Over the following 10 minutes, shares continued to move lower to print for a total move of 8.6%.

 

TIME: 1559BST/1059EDT

NEWS: Citron Research negative on Zillow (Z)

REACTION: In the immediate reaction, Z shares fell 1.8% from USD 134.90 to USD 132.54

 

TIME: 1511BST/1011EDT

NEWS: Positive for Kandi (KNDI) and Tesla (TSLA) Beijing to build electric-car charging network, according to Xinhua

REACTION: In the immediate reaction, KNDI shares rose 7.2% from USD 13.36 to USD 14.32

 

TIME: 1400BST/0900EDT

NEWS: TUI Travel (TT/ LN) and TUI AG (TUI1 GY) have reached an agreement on a possible merger, with TUI Travel shareholders receiving 0.399 new TUI shares per share

REACTION: TUI1 GY shares rose a total of 4.9% over the following five minutes, rising from EUR 12.00 to EUR 12.59 as TT/ LN shares spiked a total of 6.7% from GBP 3.93 to GBP 4.20

 

TIME: 0828BST/0328EDT

NEWS: Pearson (PSON LN) says H1 adj. profit and adj. EPS will be lower this year and profits are heavily weighted to H2

REACTION: In the immediate reaction, PSON LN shares fell 4.0% from GBP 11.40 to GBP 10.94

Print 20:04, 27 Jun 2014 - Market Analysis - Source: RA