News Headline Summary

RANsquawk - Today's Trading Edge

TIME: 1932BST/1432EDT

NEWS: Monster Beverage (MNST) estimates lowered at Goldman Sachs on soft US and European sales

REACTION: Although no immediate reaction was observed in co. shares, they continued to decline heading towards the closing bell and moved a total of 1.1% from USD 72.10 to USD 71.31.

 

TIME: 1741BST/1241EDT

NEWS: Negative article in the NY Post on Herbalife (HLF) which says expert calls on SEC to crack down on Herbalife

REACTION: In an immediate reaction HLF shares fell 1.3% from USD 64.66 to USD 63.79.

 

TIME: 1620BST/1120EDT

NEWS: Steris (STE) receives FDA warning letter citing violations of quality and manufacturing requirements

REACTION: In an immediate reaction, STE shares fell 1.6% from USD 53.42 to USD 52.57.

 

TIME: 1552BST/1052EDT

NEWS: RANsquawk sources note that SolarCity (SCTY) are in a rooftop pact with Safeway (SWY) - Unconfirmed

REACTION: In an immediate reaction SCTY share rose 1.8% from USD 69.87 to USD 71.15.

 

TIME: 1448BST/0948EDT

NEWS: RANsquawk sources note Rackspace (RAX) cancelled all investor events – Unconfirmed. Analysts added that when investor events are cancelled, it often leads to rumours of takeover proposals for the Co.

REACTION: In the immediate reaction, RAX shares rose 2.7% in a move from USD 37.38 to USD 38.39

 

TIME: 1440BST/0940EDT

NEWS: RANsquawk sources note HomeAway (AWAY) seeing strength on takeover interest from Expedia (EXPE) for USD 50.00/shr - Unconfirmed

REACTION: In the immediate reaction, AWAY shares rose 3.0% from USD 33.49 to USD 34.49

 

TIME: 1343BST/0843EDT

NEWS: Lonmin (LMI LN) confirms a 3yr wage settlement has been made with the AMCU

REACTION: In the immediate reaction, LMI LN shares rose 1.4% from GBP 2.56 to GBP 2.60

 

TIME: 1101BST/0601EDT

NEWS: Russia President Putin asks lawmakers to cancel right to use force in Ukraine, with a vote to take place the next day, according to Interfax. Analysts immediately explained this brings Russia further away from additional sanctions from the West, as it shows material progress in de-escalating tension on the eastern border of Ukraine.

REACTION: Russia’s MICEX stock index rose 0.8% from 1,498 to 1,510 as USD/RUB fell 21 pips in a move from 34.03 to 33.82

 

TIME: 0942BST-0950BST/0442EDT-0450EDT

NEWS: BoE's Carney says wage developments suggest there is more spare capacity labour market than we previously thought, with Miles adding that there is still a significant degree of spare capacity. Bean also repeated this sentiment, stating that there is still sufficient margin of slack to keep inflationary pressure in check. Analysts immediately highlighted that the BoE comments were dovish, warning that slack must be exhausted before any rate hike

REACTION: GBP fell sharply over the following 30 minutes, with GBP/USD losing 51 pips from 1.7025 to 1.6974. Over the same period, Gilt futures rallied 13 ticks, rising from 109.25 to 109.38 as the short-sterling strip rose (Dec-14 contract added 3 ticks in a move from 99.12 to 99.15)

Print 20:06, 24 Jun 2014 - RANsquawk Update - Source: RANsquawk