News Headline Summary

RANsquawk - Today's Trading Edge

TIME: 1854BST/1354EDT

NEWS: JMP Securities says Marketo (MKTO) could be a takeover target for SAP (SAP GY)

REACTION: MKTO shares spiked higher by 1.4% in immediate reaction to the news from USD 25.23 to USD 25.59.

 

TIME: 1755BST/1255EDT

NEWS: CNBC's Jon Najarian mentions Melco Crown (MPEL) positively

REACTION: In the immediate reaction, MPEL shares rose 1.1% from USD 32.50 to USD 32.85

 

TIME: 1738BST/1238EDT

NEWS: Formation Capital said to be alternative bidder for Gentiva Health Services (GTIV)

REACTION: In the immediate reaction, GTIV rose 5.1% to USD 17.41 to USD 18.29

 

TIME: 1711BST/1211EDT

NEWS: Encana (ECA) said to prepare for sale of Deep Panuke project this year

REACTION: In the immediate reaction, ECA shares gained 1.8% in a move higher from USD 21.63 to USD 22.02

 

TIME: 1601BST/1101EDT

NEWS: Regulus Therapeutics (RGLS) gets FDA Orphan status for drug to treat Alport syndrome

REACTION: In the immediate reaction RGLS shares rose 4.3% from USD 6.67 to USD 6.96
 

TIME: 1528BST/1028EDT

NEWS: RANsquawk sources note LBO interest in JCP (JCP) from private equity names at around USD 15 per shr - Unconfirmed

REACTION: In the immediate reaction, JCP shares rose 2.4% from USD 8.51 to USD 8.71

 

TIME: 1518BST/1018EDT

NEWS: Positive Seeking Alpha article for Endeavour International (END)

REACTION: In the immediate reaction, END shares rose 6.7% from USD 1.20 to USD 1.28

 

TIME: 1458BST/0958EDT

NEWS: Third Point takes stake in Royal DSM (DSM NA)

REACTION: Over the course of the next 5 minutes, DSM NA share rose 3.8% from USD 50.04 to USD 51.92

 

TIME: 1455BST/0955EDT

NEWS: RANsquawk sources note YPF (YPF) is a new buy at Third Point - unconfirmed

REACTION: In the immediate reaction, YPF shares rose 3.2% from USD 36.59 to USD 37.75

 

TIME: 1355BST/0855EDT

NEWS: Banco Popolare (BP IM) raised to buy from neutral at Goldman Sachs

REACTION: Over the next 5 minutes BP IM shares rose around 3.6% from EUR 11.22 to EUR 11.63

 

TIME: 1000BST/0500EDT

NEWS: AbbVie (ABBV) and Shire (SHP LN) reach a pact on a recommended combination, with an indicative value of GBP 52.48 per Shire (SHP LN) share

REACTION: SHP LN shares spiked 1.7% from GBP 48.32 to GBP 49.11

 

TIME: 0805BST/0305EDT

NEWS: Go-Ahead (GOG LN) says disappointed not to get Crossrail franchise

REACTION: In the immediate reaction. GOG LN shares fell 1.6% from GBP 22.69 to GBP 22.34

 

TIME: 0646BST/0146EDT

NEWS: RANsquawk sources report real money and leveraged accounts on the bid in EUR/USD in 1.3513-20 area - Unconfirmed

REACTION: EUR/USD remained supported about the 1.3520 level for the following six hours, with the currency pair testing, but failing to break, the level until a surge in the USD at 1353BST/0853EDT finally pushed EUR/USD below 1.3500

Print 20:05, 18 Jul 2014 - RANsquawk Update - Source: RANsquawk